Skip to content

Sports Logos Become More About Fashion Than Passion

February 26, 2015

Old man alert! I never thought I would say this about one of my blogs but that’s how I feel by writing this.

The thoughts for this blog began a week ago when I was taking the official Awesome Sports Logos mascot Oscar for a walk around the neighborhood. We came across some teenagers hanging out and one was wearing an Indiana Pacers cap. We are based in Dallas so it’s not often that you see any kind of Pacers representation. I thought it would be a good conversation starter to get his thoughts on the Pacers. Can Roy Hibbert get back to his dominant center ways? There was a long pause followed by, “I’m not sure, I just like the hat”. What, you like the hat? You don’t want to discuss Paul George and his future with the club?

The reality hit me as I walked away stopping to pick up poop from our favorite mascot. There is a new generation and they think of sports logos differently than when I grew up. See, I’m starting to show my age. When I grew up, we would wear our favorite team and that’s it. To me, it was about supporting the team that you love. You could never wear a hat of the enemy. You were an outcast if you wore a hat of a team in the same division. Even if you liked the logo, you felt like a trader.

Today it’s all about the fashion and teams are embracing the trend. If you walk into any pro shop or sporting goods store, you’ll see at least 20 different varieties of the same sports logo. It’s huge money. Team loyalty is now being overruled by what hat goes best with the pants and shirt. Phillies, Yankees, Rangers, Red Sox gear in the same week isn’t a problem in today’s society.

Maybe I am getting old and usually I adjust with the times. This time, I’ll stick with old school and wear the teams that I root for. I feel like I should be yelling, “Get off my lawn”.

The best part about Awesome Sports Logos is the teams aren’t real so you can wear them all and still have complete allegiance to your favorite team. We offer all kinds of colors to meet your fashion requirements. The best part is that you can get great savings on theseawesome super soft t-shirts by joining our t-shirt of the month club. Since pitchers and catchers are reporting for spring training, I thought it would be good to show you one of favorite t-shirts, the Idaho Taters. This was one of our first designs and still one of my favorites. Go Taters!!

 

Thanks as always for reading. You guys are awesome!!

Gavin Spittle

Founder, Logo Lover, T-shirt Fanatic

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

